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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
FISH AND GAME COMMISSION 

FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR REGULATORY ACTION 
 

Add Section 163.1 
Title 14, California Code of Regulations 

Re:  Herring Permit Transfers 
 

I. Date of Initial Statement of Reasons:  September 2, 2005 
 
II. Date of Pre-adoption Statement of Reasons:  October 11, 2005 
 
II. Date of Final Statement of Reasons:  December 14, 2005 
 
IV. Dates and Locations of Scheduled Hearings: 
 

(a) Notice Hearing:  Date:  August 19, 2005                 
Location:  San Luis Obispo, CA  

 
(b) Discussion:   Date:  November 4, 2005             
     Location:  Santa Barbara, CA   
     
(c) Adoption Hearing:  Date:  December 9. 2005 

     Location:  Concord, CA    
 
V. Update: 
  
 After public testimony and discussion at the Fish and Game Commission 

(Commission) meeting on November 4, 2005, the Commission requested that a 
second option be added for consideration in Section 163.1, with possible 
adoption at their December 9, 2005 meeting in Concord, California.   

 
Option 1 

 
 Option 1 is the same as the proposed changes described in the Initial Statement 

of Reasons dated September 2, 2005.  The following proposals to facilitate 
transfers of herring permits are based on recommendations received, in part from 
a group of Director’s Herring Advisory Committee members, and on a proposal 
received by the Fish and Game Commission at their August 19, 2005 meeting in 
Morro Bay.  The proposal from the meeting is based on existing law (Fish and 
Game Code Section 8552.3).  Option 1 includes the following: 

 
Transfer Fees 
The proposed regulations would lower the herring permit transfer fee from $5,000 
to $1,000.  The current fee of $5,000 is inhibiting transfer of permits, and is 
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creating an economic hardship for permit holders who want to leave the fishery 
and for fishermen who want to enter the fishery.  Many permit holders consider 
the $5,000 fee excessive and inequitable during a period when the market value 
of the permits is relatively low.  Lowering the permit fee to $1,000 would lower 
the economic barrier for permit transfers while still providing the Department with 
revenue for herring research and management. 
 
The herring permit transfer fee was not established to cover the administrative 
costs of transferring a permit but rather as a means to help fund herring research 
and management.  The commercial roe herring fishery has been regulated by 
fixed numbers of permits since 1973, and the permits were not transferable 
(except to a working partner or family member upon death of the permit holder) 
until 1989.  Thus, the Department did not initially issue an item of real monetary 
value, because the permits were not transferable and initial issuance of a permit 
was at no cost to the recipient except for the annual permit fee.  The passage of 
AB4597 in 1989, with the provision for full transferability of herring permits, 
assigned a real monetary value to possession of a herring permit without 
accruable monetary benefit to the state.  To rectify that, AB4597 required that a 
transfer fee be paid to the state.   

 
Anecdotal information from fishermen as well as trends for the number of permit 
transfers, number of permits reverting to the state, and the number of 
partnerships indicate that the current transfer fee of $5,000 is a barrier to the sale 
and transfer of herring permits.  The number of transfers per year dropped 
markedly after the transfer fee increased from $2,500 to $5,000 on April 1, 1997 
(Attachment 1).  The number of permits reverting to the state has increased 
dramatically in the last two seasons (Attachment 1); a permit reverts to the state 
when the permit was not sold and transferred after the death of a permit holder or 
when the permit holder choose not to renew the permit.   
 
Herring permit transfer procedures are specified in statute (Fish and Game Code 
Sections 8552.2 and 8552.6).  The administrative and fiscal impacts to the 
Department for completing a transfer are minor.  The reduction in the fee will not 
impact the Department’s ability to complete permit transfers.   
 
Existing law (Fish and Game Code Section 8552.7) states that the transfer fees 
shall be used for research and management of herring.  On average, the 
revenues from the transfer fee represent about four to five percent of the revenue 
that the Department receives directly from the herring fishery and about seven 
percent of the revenue deposited in the Herring Dedicated Account for herring 
management and research.  If the number of permit transfers per year stays the 
same as the average number per year since the transfer fee was increased to 
$5,000 on April 1, 1997 (i.e., about four per year), then the Department would 
lose revenues.  However, if the number of permit transfers per year equals the 
average number of transfers when the fee was less than $5,000 (i.e., 32 per 
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year), then the Department would not lose revenues.  Any revenues lost due to 
the lower transfer fee would need to be absorbed by the Department within 
existing budgets and resources, or the Department would need to find ways to 
reduce the cost of managing the herring fisheries. 
 
Authorization to Own Multiple Permits in the San Francisco Bay Fishery 
The proposed regulations would authorize gillnet permit holders in San Francisco 
Bay to own permits in more than one platoon (odd-numbered permits, even-
numbered permits, and December herring (“DH”) permits), but would prohibit 
anyone from holding more than one permit per platoon.  Individuals holding 
converted round haul (“CH”) permits that are authorized to fish in two platoons 
would be allowed to own a permit for the platoon that is not authorized under his 
or her CH permit.  An individual who is a partner of a permit held in partnership 
would not be allowed to hold another permit (either as sole owner or as a 
partner) for the same platoon as the permit held in partnership. 
 
Elimination of the Point System
The legislative direction in Section 8552.3 (c) is to only eliminate the point 
system, not to dispense with qualifying criteria altogether.  In issuing limited entry 
permits, Commission Restricted Access Policy 4.1 encourages giving a 
preference to fishermen with a record of prior participation in the fishery.  The 
point-system would be eliminated, and new eligibility criteria would be in place for 
permits that are not held in partnership.  The proposed regulations would limit 
transfers to individuals who meet at least one of the following criteria: have fished 
in a herring roe fishery in California for at least one season and have held a 
California commercial fishing license for at least three years; or is a current San 
Francisco Bay permit holder who is purchasing another San Francisco Bay 
permit. 
 
The proposed regulations would require the following documents to demonstrate 
eligibility:   
 
(1) A copy of a cancelled check in the individual’s name and a notarized copy of 

a trip settlement sheet showing the income earned while fishing aboard a 
vessel participating in any California herring roe fishery 

(2) A copy of the individual’s State Franchise Tax return reporting income earned 
while fishing aboard a vessel participating in a California herring roe fishery 

(3) In cases of a substitution under Fish and Game Code Section 8554, a copy of 
a fish landing receipt submitted to the department with the individual’s name, 
the individual’s commercial fishing license number, and landing of roe herring 
reported on the landing receipt. 

 
To reduce the burden on the permit holder, the proposed regulations would 
eliminate the requirements that a permit holder mail a notice of intention to 
transfer to everyone on the Department’s list of individuals with experience points 
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(commonly called the 20-point list).  To facilitate administration of the proposed 
changes, the proposed regulations specify the requirement for requesting a 
permit transfer, specify that an application must be for each permit each season, 
and provide a process to appeal a Department denial of a transfer. 
 

Option 2 
 
 Option 2 is based on public comments at the Commission’s November meeting 

and the Commission analysis of Fish and Game Code Section 8552.3 and would 
include the following proposed changes: 

 
Transfer Fees 
The proposed regulations would lower the herring permit transfer fee from $5,000 
to $1,000.  The current fee of $5,000 is inhibiting transfer of permits, and is 
creating an economic hardship for permit holders who want to leave the fishery 
and for fishermen who want to enter the fishery.  Many permit holders consider 
the $5,000 fee excessive and inequitable during a period when the market value 
of the permits is relatively low.  Lowering the permit fee to $1,000 would lower 
the economic barrier for permit transfers while still providing the Department with 
revenue for herring research and management. 
 
The herring permit transfer fee was not established to cover the administrative 
costs of transferring a permit but rather as a means to help fund herring research 
and management.  The commercial roe herring fishery has been regulated by 
fixed numbers of permits since 1973, and the permits were not transferable 
(except to a working partner or family member upon death of the permit holder) 
until 1989.  Thus, the Department did not initially issue an item of real monetary 
value, because the permits were not transferable and initial issuance of a permit 
was at no cost to the recipient except for the annual permit fee.  The passage of 
AB4597 in 1989, with the provision for full transferability of herring permits, 
assigned a real monetary value to possession of a herring permit without 
accruable monetary benefit to the state.  To rectify that, AB4597 required that a 
transfer fee be paid to the state.   

 
Anecdotal information from fishermen as well as trends for the number of permit 
transfers, number of permits reverting to the state, and the number of 
partnerships indicate that the current transfer fee of $5,000 is a barrier to the sale 
and transfer of herring permits.  The number of transfers per year dropped 
markedly after the transfer fee increased from $2,500 to $5,000 on April 1, 1997 
(Attachment 1).  The number of permits reverting to the state has increased 
dramatically in the last two seasons (Attachment 1); a permit reverts to the state 
when the permit was not sold and transferred after the death of a permit holder or 
when the permit holder choose not to renew the permit.   
 
Herring permit transfer procedures are specified in statute (Fish and Game Code 
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Sections 8552.2 and 8552.6).  The administrative and fiscal impacts to the 
Department for completing a transfer are minor.  The reduction in the fee will not 
impact the Department’s ability to complete permit transfers.   
 
Existing law (Fish and Game Code Section 8552.7) states that the transfer fees 
shall be used for research and management of herring.  On average, the 
revenues from the transfer fee represent about four to five percent of the revenue 
that the Department receives directly from the herring fishery and about seven 
percent of the revenue deposited in the Herring Dedicated Account for herring 
management and research.  If the number of permit transfers per year stays the 
same as the average number per year since the transfer fee was increased to 
$5,000 on April 1, 1997 (i.e., about four per year), then the Department would 
lose revenues.  However, if the number of permit transfers per year equals the 
average number of transfers when the fee was less than $5,000 (i.e., 32 per 
year), then the Department would not lose revenues.  Any revenues lost due to 
the lower transfer fee would need to be absorbed by the Department within 
existing budgets and resources, or the Department would need to find ways to 
reduce the cost of managing the herring fisheries. 
 
Authorization to Own Multiple Permits in the San Francisco Bay Fishery 
The proposed regulations would authorize gillnet permit holders in San Francisco 
Bay to own permits in more than one platoon (odd-numbered permits, even-
numbered permits, and December herring (“DH”) permits), but would prohibit 
anyone from holding more than one permit per platoon.  Individuals holding 
converted round haul (“CH”) permits that are authorized to fish in two platoons 
would be allowed to own a permit for the platoon that is not authorized under his 
or her CH permit.  An individual who is a partner of a permit held in partnership 
would not be allowed to hold another permit (either as sole owner or as a 
partner) for the same platoon as the permit held in partnership. 

 
Elimination of the Point System 
The proposed regulations would completely eliminate all qualifying criteria for 
owning a herring gillnet permit.  The fishery would be open to anyone with a 
California commercial fishing license. 
 
Family Transfers 
Proposed regulations would allow family transfers between husband and wife 
and from parent to child without the need for qualifying criteria.   
 
The Commission adopted Option 2 at the December 9, 2005 meeting. 
 

VI. Summary of Primary Considerations Raised in Support of or Opposition to the 
Proposed Actions and Reasons for Rejecting Those Considerations: 

 
1. Sam Liberati, herring fisherman, in a letter dated August 10, 2005 and during 
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oral testimony at the November 4, 2005 and December 9, 2005 Commission 
meetings requested the following:  

a. Allow an individual to own a single permit for each of the different 
herring gillnet platoons in San Francisco Bay. 
b. Reduction of transfer fee to $1,000. 
c. Eliminate the point system for qualifying for a herring permit. 
d. Allow a herring permit to be passed from a parent to a child, or 
between husband and wife. 

      
Department Response: 

                 1a-d. Support noted. 
 
2. Ronald Mangue, herring fisherman, in a letter dated October 6, 2005 

requested the following:  
a. Reduction of transfer fee to $1,000. 
b. Allow an individual to own a single permit for each of the different 

herring gillnet platoons in San Francisco Bay. 
c. Eliminate the point system for qualifying for a herring permit. 
d. Allow a herring permit to be passed from a parent to a child, or 

between husband and wife. 
      

Department Response: 
                 2a-d. See Response 1a-d above. 
 
 3.  Eddie Genovese, herring permittee, during oral testimony at the November 4, 
         2005 Commission Meeting stated that the 20 ton quota should be used in 
      research for the fishery. 
 
  Department Response: 
   The existing regulations, in Section 163, Title 14, already provide for the 

 ability to have 20 tons go toward research. 
 

3. Ernie Koepf, herring permittee, during oral testimony at the December 9, 2005 
Commission meeting supported Option 2. 

 
Department Response: 

           See Response 1a-d. above. 
 

4. Paul Weakland, during oral testimony at the December 9, 2005 Commission 
meeting made the following comments. 

a. The simpler language is better. 
b. “Widows and orphans E Clampus Vitus”. 

 
Department Response: 

           4a-b. The comments do not pertain to proposed rulemaking. 
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VII. Location and Index of Rulemaking File: 
 
 A rulemaking file with attached file index is maintained at: 
 California Fish and Game Commission 
 1416 Ninth Street 
 Sacramento, California 95814 
 
VIII. Location of Department Files: 
 
 Department of Fish and Game 
 1416 Ninth Street 
 Sacramento, California 95814 
 
IX. Description of Reasonable Alternatives to Regulatory Action: 
 

(a) Alternatives to Regulation Change:  The Department considered herring 
permit transfer fees of $500.  The Department would not be able to absorb 
the lost revenue from a fee as low as $500 which is one-tenth the current 
fee.   

 
(b) No Change Alternative:  If the herring permit transfer fee remains at 

$5,000, it is expected that the number of transfers will remain low, and the 
number of permits reverting to the state will continue to rise.  If the permit 
eligibility requirements remain the same, there will be a smaller pool of 
potential buyers for permits than under the proposed regulations. 

 
(c) Consideration of Alternatives:  In view of information currently possessed, 

no reasonable alternative considered would be more effective in carrying 
out the purposes for which the regulation is proposed or would be as 
effective and less burdensome to the affected private persons than the 
proposed regulation. 

 
X. Impact of Regulatory Action: 
 

The potential for significant statewide adverse economic impacts that might result 
from the proposed regulatory action has been assessed, and the following initial 
determinations relative to the required statutory categories have been made: 
 
(a) Significant Statewide Adverse Economic Impact Directly Affecting 

Businesses, Including the Ability of California Businesses to Compete with 
Businesses in Other States: 

 
None.  No adverse economic impacts are anticipated from the proposed 
regulations.  The proposed regulation, at most, would facilitate the sale 
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and transfer of herring permits by fishermen desiring to leave the fishery 
through reduced transactions costs.  There are currently 417 herring 
permit holders.  Anecdotal information from the fishermen, and some 
statistical corroboration at the Department of Fish and Game, indicate that 
the current transfer fee of $5,000 may present a barrier to the sale and 
transfer of herring permits.   
 

(b) Impact on the Creation or Elimination of Jobs Within the State, the 
Creation of New Businesses or the Elimination of Existing Businesses, or 
the Expansion of Businesses in California: 

 
None.  Lowering the transfer fee cost would reduce transactions costs 
and likely enable some fishermen to retire while capturing a larger portion 
of the current value of their permit.  This would facilitate the perpetual use 
of permits for ongoing business activities and opportunities, thus 
preserving or perhaps increasing the number of jobs in the State.  This 
would be in contrast to a permit holder retiring or dying and letting the 
permit lapse due to a relatively high permit transfer fee of $5,000. 

 
(c) Cost Impacts on a Representative Private Person or Business:  

 
The agency is not aware of any adverse cost impacts that a representative 
private person or business would necessarily incur in reasonable 
compliance with the proposed action. 

 
(d) Costs or Savings to State Agencies or Costs/Savings in Federal Funding 

to the State: 
 

Since April 1,1997 when the transfer fee rose to $5,000, there have been 
an average of four permit transfers per year; generating about $20,000 
(four x $5,000) in transfer fees to the Department.  Industry 
representatives have stated that more fishermen would retire and sell their 
permits, if transfer fees were lower.  Department records on herring permit 
transfers over the last 17 years appear to confirm that a $5,000 transfer 
fee is a barrier to fishermen selling and transferring their permits.  The 
average age of resident herring fishermen rose from 50 years of age in 
1996, to 58 years of age in 2004.  This suggests that fishermen are 
keeping their permits longer, and are disinclined to sell them.  Based on 
advertisements in recent commercial fishing trade journals, the current 
price for a San Francisco Bay herring permit is less than $10,000.  Thus, a 
$5,000 transfer fee is at least 50 percent of the revenues generated from 
sale of a permit at current market prices.  This likely deters older 
fishermen from retiring and selling their herring permits.  The average age 
of herring permit holders at death or retirement was 73.5 years of age 
from 1996 through 2004.  The age composition of herring permit holders in 
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2004 is as follows:  0.9 percent are age 18-30, 8.0 are percent age 30-40, 
22.2 percent are age 40-50, 40.1 percent are age 50-60, 16.5 percent are 
age 60-70, 8.5 percent are age 70-80, and 3.8 percent are age 80 or 
older.  Based on this current age composition of the 417 herring 
fishermen, there are 22 individuals at or above the threshold age (that is, 
average age at death or retirement) of 73.5 years.  The Department 
anticipates that these 22 permit holders are likely to transfer their permits 
soon after implementation of a transfer fee reduction.  Thus, in the first 
couple years of a new $1,000 transfer fee, there may be 10 to 15 transfers 
a year, representing $10,000 to $15,000 in Department revenues in each 
year.  Thereafter, the Department expects the annual number of transfers 
to average about 2.2 over the next five years, and about 2.8 over the next 
10 years, based on the 2004 age structure of the herring permit holders 
and assuming a retirement threshold age of 73.5 years.  However, permit 
sale and transfer activity is dependent on, among other things, the 
availability of qualified and willing buyers.   
  
Compared to historical permit transfers, which average four transfers per 
year, under the reduced transfer fee the Department would likely lose 
revenues of up to $9,000 per year in the first couple of years.  This 
revenue loss would occur even with anticipated increases in the number of 
transfers to about 11 in year one and year two of the proposed 
regulations.  If the number of transfers thereafter average 2.8 a year, 
annual losses in transfer revenues would be approximately $17,200 for 
the Department.  This assumes that all other factors potentially affecting 
permit transfer activity stay the same (e.g., ex-vessel value of the product, 
Japanese economy, foreign exchange rates, out-of-state competition, and 
existing inventories).  Japan imports nearly all of the herring roe from 
fisheries in California.  Current indications are that the Japanese economy 
is not likely to rebound dramatically in the next few years.   

 
(e) Nondiscretionary Costs/Savings to Local Agencies:  None 

 
(f) Programs mandated on Local Agencies or School Districts:  None 

 
(g) Costs Imposed on Any Local Agency or School District that is Required  

to be Reimbursed Under Part 7 (commencing with Section 17500) of 
Division 4:  None 

 
(h) Effect on Housing Costs:  None 
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Updated Informative Digest/Policy Statement Overview 
 
Under existing law (Fish and Game Code Section 8550), Pacific herring may be taken 
for commercial purposes only under the authority of a permit, and herring permits are 
transferable under the provision of Fish and Game Code Sections 8552.2 and 8552.6.  
Fish and Game Code Section 8552.7 currently sets the fee to transfer a herring permit 
at $5,000, but existing law (Fish and Game Code Section 8552.1) authorizes the Fish 
and Game Commission (Commission) to adjust the herring permit transfer fee to a level 
that will not discourage the transfer of permits or limit entry into the fishery, and that will 
ensure sufficient funds to cover reasonable Department of Fish and Game (Department) 
costs associated with management of the fishery. 
 
Existing law (Fish and Game Code Section 8552.3) provides the Commission with the 
authority to adopt regulations to facilitate transfer of herring permits including 
regulations that would allow an individual to own a permit for each of the three gill net 
platoons (also called fishing groups and designated DH, Odd, and Even) in San 
Francisco Bay; eliminate the point system for qualifying for a herring permit; and allow a 
herring permit to be transferred from a parent to child or between spouses, when those 
individuals are otherwise qualified to participate in the fishery. 
 
Existing law (Fish and Game Code Section 8552.2) limits permit transfers to individuals 
with at least 20 herring fishery points (also known as experience points) unless the 
permit is transferred to partner in a partnership established under the provision of Fish 
and Game Code Section 8552.6.  Permits held in partnership may be transferred to one 
of the partners if that partner has at least 10 experience points and the partnership has 
existed for at least three consecutive years.  Fish and Game Code Section 8552.8 
establishes the basis for earning experience points in the roe herring fishery. 
 
Based on public comments at the Commission’s November meeting and its 
analysis of Fish and Game Code Section 8552.3, the Commission requested that a 
second option be considered for the elimination of the point system and the 
family transfer of herring permits.  Both Options propose regulations that would 
lower the herring permit transfer fee from $5,000 to $1,000.  In Option 1, the proposed 
regulations to facilitate transfers are based on recommendations received from a group 
of Director’s Herring Advisory Committee members and on a proposal received by the 
Commission at their August 18-19 by a herring permittee.  Those regulations would:  
authorize permit holders in San Francisco Bay to hold permits in more than one platoon; 
eliminate the point system and establish new eligibility criteria for permit transfer; 
specify the documents needed to demonstrate eligibility; eliminate the requirements that 
a permit holder mail a notice of intention to transfer to everyone on the Department’s list 
of individuals with experience points (commonly called the 20-point list).  Option 2 
proposes regulations that would eliminate all eligibility criteria for owning a 
herring permit and allow the transfer of a herring permit from husband to wife and 
parent to child without restrictions.  Both options propose regulations that would 
also specify the requirement for requesting a permit transfer, specify that an application 
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must be for each permit each season, and provide a process to appeal a Department 
denial of a transfer. 

Option 1 
 

Under Option 1, the proposed regulations would limit transfers to individuals who meet 
at least one of the following criteria:   
 

• Have fished in the a herring roe fishery in California for at least one season 
and have held a California commercial fishing license for at least three years 
and provides documentation 

• Is a spouse or child of the current permit holder who is otherwise qualified, or 
• Is a current San Francisco Bay permit holder who is purchasing another San 

Francisco Bay permit. 
 
In addition, the proposed regulations would authorize permit holders in San Francisco 
Bay to own permits in more than one platoon (odd-numbered permits, even-numbered 
permits, and December herring (“DH”) permits), but would prohibit anyone from holding 
more than one permit per platoon.  Individuals holding converted round haul (“CH”) 
permits that are authorized to fish in two platoons would be allowed to own a permit for 
the platoon that is not authorized under his or her CH permit. 
 

Option 2 
 

Under Option 2, the proposed regulations would eliminate all eligibility criteria for 
owning a herring gillnet permit, and allow family transfers between husband and 
wife and parent to child without restriction. 
 
In addition, the proposed regulations would authorize permit holders in San 
Francisco Bay to own permits in more than one platoon (odd-numbered permits, 
even-numbered permits, and December herring (“DH”) permits), but would 
prohibit anyone from holding more than one permit per platoon.  Individuals 
holding converted round haul (“CH”) permits that are authorized to fish in two 
platoons would be allowed to own a permit for the platoon that is not authorized 
under his or her CH permit. 
 
The Commission adopted Option 2 at the December 9, 2005 meeting. 

 



    State of California 
CALIFORNIA FISH AND GAME COMMISSION 

 
ADDENDUM TO FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 

Certification of Compliance with Sections 8552.1 and 8552.3 of the Fish 
and Game Code 

 
 
 

The Fish and Game Commission (Commission) hereby certifies that it has complied 
with sections 8552.1 and 8552.3 of the Fish and Game Code.  The Department of Fish 
and Game (Department) and Commission conducted an ongoing consultation and 
dialogue with Pacific herring fishery participants.  This consultation occurred through 
both a series of facilitated Director’s Herring Advisory Committee meetings, California 
Environmental Quality Act public meetings, Commission meetings, and individual 
dialogue consistent with sections 8552.1 and 8552.3 of the Fish and Game Code.  
Industry members introduced the proposed changes to the Commission at the 
Commission’s August 19, 2005 meeting in San Luis Obispo.    
 
 
 
 

Jon Fischer 
Date: March 24, 2006    Assistant Executive Director 
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REGULATORY LANGUAGE 
 

Section 163.1, Title 14, CCR is amended to read: 
 
163.1 Herring Permit Transfers Fee. 
 
(a)  Definitions. 
 
Individual means a single natural person. 
 
Individually held means a permit that is not held by a partnership under Fish and Game Code 
Section 8552.6. 
 
Permit means a valid entitlement issued pursuant to Fish and Game Code Section 8552, which 
has not been suspended or revoked, to take herring for roe purposes. 
 
Fishing group means those platoons whose season is designated in Section 163(a) of these 
regulations. 
 
(b)  Multiple permits.  In the San Francisco Bay fishery, no person may ever hold, either 
individually or in partnership, more than a total of three permits, and/or more than one permit in 
any fishing group.  
(c)  Notice/application to transfer and transfer fee.  A transfer under this regulation does not 
require the notice to qualified point holders required by Fish and Game Code Section 8552.2.  
The permit holder must submit a notarized letter, signed by the permit holder, to the 
department’s San Francisco Bay Area Marine Region office requesting transfer of the permit, 
identifying the individual to whom the permit is to be transferred.  Notwithstanding Fish and 
Game Code Section 8552.7 the fee to transfer a herring permit is one thousand dollars ($1000).  
The fees shall be deposited in the Fish and Game Preservation Fund and shall be expended for 
research and management activities to maintain and enhance herring resources pursuant to 
subsection 8052(a) of the Fish and Game Code. 
(d)  Permit Renewal.  Each permit individually held shall be separately renewed according to the 
procedures in Section 163 of these regulations. 
(e)  Appeals.  Any individual who is denied the transfer of a permit may appeal in writing to the 
department’s San Francisco Bay Area Marine Region office not more than 60 days from the 
date of denial.  The appeal shall describe the basis for the appeal and contain all supporting 
evidence.  If the denial is sustained, the individual may appeal in writing to the commission 
within 60 days of the date of the department's decision. 
 
Note: Authority cited: Sections 8552.1, 8552.3 and 8553, Fish and Game Code. Reference: 
Sections 8552, 8552.1, 8552.2, 8552.3 and 8552.7, Fish and Game Code. 




